Professor Sajal K. Das is the founding director of UTA's Center for Research in Wireless Mobility and Networking (CReWMaN). He received his Ph.D. in computer science from the University of Central Florida in 1988 and his M.S. in computer science form the Washington State University in 1986. He received his B.Tech. in computer science form the University of Calcutta in 1983. During 1988-99, he was a faculty member in the Computer Science Department at the University of North Texas, where he founded the Center for Research in Wireless Computing (CReW) in 1997. Dr. Das was a recipient of the Student Association's Honor Professor Award at UNT in 1991 and 1997 for best teaching and scholarly research, and UNT's Developing Scholars' Award in 1996 for outstanding research. He has visited numerous universities and research organizations worldwide for collaborative research and seminar talks. He is also frequently invited as a speaker at international conferences and symposia. Prof. Das has published over 170 research papers in journals and conference proceedings in the areas of wireless networks and protocols, mobile computing, parallel/distributed processing, performance modeling, applied graph theory and interconnection networks. He has also directed numerous funded projects in these areas. He received the Best Paper Awards in the ACM/IEEE Fifth International Conference on Mobile Computing and Networking (MobiCom'99), the Third ACM International Workshop on Modeling, Analysis and Simulation of Wireless and Mobile Systems (MSWiM 2000), and ACM/IEEE International Workshop on Parallel and Distributed Simulation (PADS'97). Prof. Das serves on the editorial boards of the Journal of Parallel and Distributed Computing (as the subject area editor of mobile computing), Parallel Processing Letters, and the Journal of Parallel Algorithms and Applications. He has guest-edited special issues for many leading journals. He has served on the program committees of numerous conferences including IEEE IPDPS, ICPP, IEEE INFOCOM, and ACM MobiCom. He was general vice-chair of the IEEE International Conference on High Performance Computing (HiPC2000), program vice chair of HiPC'99, and the founding program chair of WoWMoM'98 and WoWMoM'99. Dr. Das also serves on the ACM SIGMOBILE and IEEE TCPP executive committees. He is a member of the IEEE and ACM.

  • 1988 - PhD in Computer Science, University of Central Florida
  • 1986 - PhD candidate in Computer Science, Washington State University
  • 1984 - MS in Computer Science, Indian Institute of Science
  • 1983 - B of Tech in Computer Science, Calcutta University
  • 1980- BS of Physics, Narendrapur Ramkrishna Mission, University of Calcutta

Link to Research Profiles

Collections in this community